What it’s like to be an Adoption Recruiter

The Adoption Exchange’s Wendy’s Wonderful Kids Recruiters serve waiting children in Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah. The Recruiters “work on caseloads of children the system has forgotten, ensuring they have the time and resources to give each child as much attention as he or she deserves. These recruiters employ aggressive practices and proven tactics focused on finding the best home for a child through the starting points of familiar circles of family, friends and neighbors, and then reaching out to the communities in which they live.” https://davethomasfoundation.org/adopt/wwk/

Below are some reflections from The Adoption Exchange’s Recruiters about the important work they do.

Recruiter One: “A day in the life of a WWK Recruiter is priceless. The experiences I’ve had working with these youth in care will always stay with me and propel me into a lifelong effort to help them know permanency, unconditional love and support, and the joy of adoption.”

Recruiter Two: “The most meaningful and impactful days as a recruiter are the moments when I talk to WWK youth about family. They share the qualities they hope to find in a family and memories from their past. During these times I know they trust me and have hope that someday I will help find them a healthy family where they can stay. On one occasion a youth was learning about her biological mother. I asked her if, ‘you could know anything what would you want to know about her?’ She stated, ‘what color are her eyes?’ After that conversation I was able to locate her mother, meet with her and pull pictures of her to give to the youth. The meeting was taxing and emotional for both of us as I am connected to her daughter and almost a medium between the two. Beyond the picture I was provided with information I hope to use as a tool to help find this girl a home. With assistance from a therapist the youth received the picture of her mother and found out her eyes are hazel.”

Recruiter Three: “I was on a visit with a 19 year old girl who was just moved a week before from her adoptive home (the family asked her to leave). This was the 5th adoptive placement that didn’t work out for her. We spent the whole visit talking about what happened and trying to help her make sense of it all. I had asked her if she had started thinking about what she wanted to do next, if she wanted to try one more time to look or if she wanted to start looking for an apartment of her own. I fully expected her to say she was done looking for families and that she was ready to be on her own, after all, every family she had ever been in and with has always bailed on the promises they made her. But this incredibly resilient young lady looked me straight in the eyes and said ‘we are trying again, I know there is a family out there for me, I know there is someone willing to stick it out with me. I can’t give up, I’d never forgive myself if I did. Even if no one wants me, at least I’ll know that you and I did everything we could to find a family.’ At the age of 21, she finalized with her permanent family in January 2015.”

The relationships that are formed between the youth and their recruiters are built on trust and hard work. At The Adoption Exchange we love and appreciate all of our Wendy’s Wonderful Kids recruiters!

Follow The Adoption Exchange on Facebook to read more insights from our WWK Recruiters.

Leave a Reply

